Larabar “ALT” Protein Bars

ImageI received a package in the mail yesterday (the FedEx guy was nice enough to put it under my doormat, it looked ridiculous) from our good friends at Larabar!  I love those guys…

They were nice enough to send me four of their new “ALT” protein bars to try out and review for all of you out there.  The flavours they sent are:

  • Pumpkin Pie
  • Lemon Pound Cake
  • Peanut Butter Cookie
  • Cinnamon Apple Crisp

Today I’ll be trying out the Pumpkin Pie, but first, a few facts about the bars.

“ALT®, the Alternative Protein Bar™, is the first-ever bar with added protein from LÄRABAR! Many bar brands use soy or whey protein, but ALT uses an alternative protein source: peas. Vegan, gluten free, dairy free, and non-GMO, ALT also uses a wrapper that is 31% renewable.” (from Larabar.com)

The Pumpkin Pie ingredients are: Dates, Pea Protein, Peanuts, Brown Rice Syrup, Brown Rice Flower, Dried Pumpkin, Sunflower Oil, and Spice.  It does have peanuts as an ingredient, so it’s not good for someone who is sensitive to nuts or has an allergy.

Here’s the Nutritional Information:

Image

Now for the review.  Let it be known that while Larabar was nice enough to send me these bars for review, the reviews are 100% my own opinions on the product, and I’m not being bribed into making a glowing review.  With that said….

It’s kind of pumpkin-y, you can definitely taste the pumpkin pie spice.  It’s subtle, and not overpowering at all.  The texture is drier than I had expected from a bar with so much date in it.  It’s not chewy, more crumbly?  The peas don’t add anything weird to the flavour at all, which I found kind of surprising.  The nuts are prominent, and add to the crunchy texture of the bar.

In a world where the “protein bar” has a tendency to just be a glorified candy bar, I found this bar to be a bit of a change from the “double dark chocolate uber chippy cookie” bars.  My only drawback to these bars is they get stuck in my teeth a bit.  I’m guessing that’s just the peanuts.  Other than that, it’s not a bad bar.  I don’t recommend it if you’re into something a bit more chewy gooey, but if you like something a bit firmer, somewhere between crunchy and chewy, you should give the ALT bars a try.

I’ll post reviews of the other flavours as I get around to eating them.  For now, I’m going to finish my breakfast of an ALT bar and some orange juice.  Ta!

Leave a Reply

