“Are you freaking kidding me?!” or “Next Week’s Spanish Exam”

My first Spanish exam is on the fourth.  My teacher stresses that the students who will be successful in her class are the ones who do tons of work outside class, keeping up with homework, reading ahead, re-reading, keeping flashcards, etc. etc.  I’ve been doing that like CRAZY, and I seem to make little to no headway.

Tonight I was reviewing what I need to have handed in prior to taking the test.  On the back of the syllabus for this chapter is the breakdown of what will be covered on the exam.  I nearly threw up reading it.

  • Vocabulary – ok I’m not so bad with this one, at least, reading it.
  • Grammar – I have SOME of this covered, but the verb forms are very confusing for me.
  • Definite and Indefinite articles – she just covered this material TODAY.  The test is on one week.  *faceplant*
  • Verb conjugation – She just touched on verbs TODAY, with a big list of -ar verbs for us to memorize.  Have I mentioned that I flat-out suck at rote memorization?
  • Time – hasn’t been covered yet.  Presumably being covered on Thursday?
  • Geography – we must identify the Spanish speaking countries in Mexico, Central America and South America.
  • True/False – I’m usually not terrible at these *fingers crossed*
  • Listening Skills – she will play an audio file and we have to answer questions.  I have no idea how I’m supposed to do this, as I take my test in the testing center, not in the classroom.
  • Writing Skills – Answer five questions in complete sentences in Spanish.  I can barely do hello, good-bye, what’s my name, address, telephone number, where I’m from…
  • Accent marks count against your answer, so if you don’t get the accent right, you don’t get the question right.  Sigh.

I have been busting my ass on this class, and I can’t see any possible way for me to pass this test aside from pure dumb luck.  She’s constantly telling us how we are the smartest of her three Spanish I classes, but honestly, I’m so lost that it’s not even funny.  It seems as if I am destined to have that one class every semester that gives me a bleeding ulcer.  Last semester it was Computers (CGS1000), this semester it’s Spanish I.

I know there are some people who will sit there and say “If you spent more time working on it and less time bitching about it….” but when you consider the ten minutes it taken me to vent here, compared to the hours I’m spending every day trying to learn it – and it IS hours.  I have an hour and a half between my classes every day, plus all my time on the weekends, reviewing flash cards, recopying sentences, doing practice exercises.  I’m just not good at this memorization thing.  Even the girl in my class next to me, who professes to be the “whitest girl ever”, is doing better than me.  It’s so frustrating, I can’t stand it.

Almost time for bed.  I’ll bring my materials with me again tomorrow and study in the “centro estudiantil” between classes.  Wish me luck, I’m desperately going to need it.  Namaste, y’all.

2 responses to ““Are you freaking kidding me?!” or “Next Week’s Spanish Exam”

  1. Good luck on your exam! Spanish sucked just as much for me too and for some reason I took three years of it convinced that it would benefit me. All I got from it was a few extra B’s on my transcript. Woo hoo.

Leave a Reply

