Yummy Fresh Salsa and Baked Potatoes!

5

October 16, 2011 by Zuri

After yesterday’s trip to VegFest, I was beat.  I tend to get tired pretty easily – it’s part of the reason why I’m trying to make these lifestyle changes.  I decided to shuffle off to take a nap.  After about four hours, which is WAY longer than I normally nap for, Baron came in and woke me up.  He said to come to the kitchen, because he had made a surprise for me.  Surprise?  Sure!  I dig surprises!

Arriving to the kitchen I found what could only be described as a bowl of tasty goodness.  He had made for me fresh salsa, using veg and fruit from the trip to the Farmer’s Market!  I had run out of my favourite jarred salsa a few days ago, and I use it often for my favourite snack:  Baked Potato with Salsa.  A lot of friends of mine have called me weird for putting salsa on a baked potato, but once they try it, they’re just as hooked as I am.  Also, salsa tastes great and is good for you, low calorie and low in fat.  Sometimes I’ll add some low fat or fat free sour cream if I have it, but it really doesn’t need it.

Baked Potato with Cheese and Fresh Salsa

Baked Potato with Cheese and Fresh Salsa

My method for making “baked potatoes” is simple:  I cube up a washed potato into about one inch cubes and put it in a bowl, so they’re nice, bite-sized pieces.  Microwave for 5-6 minutes, depending on the size of your potato.  Let cool for about a minute, because it’ll be steaming hot, and then take it out of the microwave and add your toppings.  If you want to add cheese or something melty to your potato before you add salsa, take out your potato at about 5 minutes, add the cheese, and microwave for another minute.  Then let cool and add salsa.  Quick and easy!

Now I have this amazing lime flavoured salsa, with fresh tomatoes, onions, garlic and lychee.  One bite and I was hooked.  I’m looking forward to snacking on this hardcore in the coming week!

5 thoughts on “Yummy Fresh Salsa and Baked Potatoes!

  1. Cimitiere says:

    I’m glad you liked it. ❤

  2. vnicharico says:

    never had lychee in a salsa! that sounds yummy!

    • Murdercakes says:

      I actually stumbled on a recipe in my web scouring for lychee recipes that used it in salsa, and had mentioned it in passing. That’s probably where he got the idea from. 🙂

  3. You completed several nice points there. I did a search on the issue and found a good number of people will have the same opinion with your blog.

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Still going.  #workinprogress #wanderingeyegallery #painting #ontheeasel #yborart #tampaart #wip @wanderingeyegallery Guinan being playful, happy new year! Momma.
