Organic Broccoli Pizza with Pickled Garlic! Noms!

12

October 18, 2011 by Zuri

While grousing last night about having the urge to cook, but not having much in the way of cooking staples in the house, Baron pointed out something to me: We had a package of pizza dough that was kind of forgotten about.  Omg!  I wanted to make pizza!

Honestly, it’s prepared dough from Pilsbury, so you get what you pay for, but it’s better than nothing.  I combined this with:

  • A can of fire roasted tomatoes (I didn’t have any sauce or puree, so this had to suffice)
  • Slices of Jalapeno Pickled Garlic (it’s not spicy at all, but has a great vingary flavour)
  • Mozzarella Cheese (leftover from Eggplant Parmesan from the other night)
  • Organically Grown Broccoli (a friend of ours had some extra from his CSA and gave me some)

Fifteen minutes in the oven and my pizza was done!  It’s a lot more filling than take-out pizza, and on my third piece I’m already full.

Organic Broccoli Pizza

Organic Broccoli Pizza

Things I learned from my first attempt at making a pizza at home:

  1. Needs longer than 15 minutes.  The center was still a bit light and doughy.
  2. My cat (Gaz) has some aversion to me cutting up broccoli.  She would not stop harassing me the entire time.
  3. Need to find a better way to make it non-stick.  Flour?  Cooking spray?  Spraying olive oil didn’t help in the slightest.
  4. Don’t tin-foil the cooking sheet.  I did this out of habit for cleanup purposes, but in some spots it tried to stick on the pizza crust and tore up.  See #3.
  5. Yes, pizza can be “derpy”.  The dough wasn’t the easiest to work with, so it’s lack of roundness is pretty evident.

I look forward to trying this one again, maybe using bakery-made dough instead of the prepared Pilsbury variety.  I’m not confident enough in my preparation skills yet to attempt to make my own dough yet.  Eventually, but not quite there yet.  One step at a time!

12 thoughts on “Organic Broccoli Pizza with Pickled Garlic! Noms!

  1. 13thfaerie says:

    Can I invite myself over for pizza sometime?? Lol.

  2. veghotpot says:

    Absolutely love your blog! Made me giggle with your “things I learnt” section! Fab 🙂 x

  3. Lindsay says:

    Oh — that sounds delicious! I am suddenly inspired!! 🙂

  4. Cimitiere says:

    I’ll teach you to properly throw dough one day. ❤

  5. montemplar says:

    I’d suggest making the pizza base a bit thinner next time, preheating a tray in your oven, then sprinkling flour onto the tray before placing the pizza on top.

    • Murdercakes says:

      Thanks Alan. The dough wasn’t working out really well, and I think the flour really would have helped with the sticking. I’m going to try different dough next time, maybe I’ll get better results with that as well. Thanks for commenting! 🙂

  6. Hi, i must say great blog you have, i stumbled across it in Google. Does you get much visitors?

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Lyta gets a #boop on my desk! #kittensofinstagram #catsofinstagram #Inktober drawing 18 - "Filthy". Nothing like mushrooms romping in the mud. #inktober2017  #twitchcreative #twitch  @inktober2017 #mushrooms  twitch.tv/spookeriffic  #inkdrawing #Inktober day 17, #graceful - the Deaths Head Moth. Very happy with the hands! #inktober2017 #twitchcreative #twitch #inkdrawing #deathsheadmoth @inktober2017 @inktober
