Review: Larabars Ginger Snap!

1

November 8, 2011 by Zuri

This week I received four Larabars in the mail for review.  I have to first preface that I’m not being paid by Larabar for the review, and the opinions stated in this review are 100% my own.  I’ve decided to review the four flavours separately, and the first flavour we’ll be reviewing is Ginger Snaps.

Larabar Ginger Snap

Ginger Snap Flavoured Larabar

For those unfamiliar with Larabars, they’re a fruit and nut bar that is labeled as gluten free, dairy free, soy free, non-gmo, vegan and kosher.  The package states that it’s made from “100% real food…a magical harmony of fruits, nuts and spices that will lift your vitality and provide energy with every bite.  Simple. Pure. Delicious.”

I love ginger, so I was immediately drawn to the Ginger Snap flavour, with it’s simple list of ingredients: dates, almonds, pecans, ginger, cinnamon, and cloves.  I noticed that dates tend to be the primary ingredient for most Larabars, and lends itself to a rather interesting consistency somewhere between firm brownies and the filling of a fig newton.  The nuts in the bar weren’t ground down to nothingness, so there was a good nutty texture throughout the entire bar.  As far as the spices go, I was happy that the ginger wasn’t overpowering and tongue-numbing like a lot of ginger products can be, and the clove and cinnamon were nice and subtle in comparison to the ginger.  The ginger could have been a wee bit stronger, but as it was, the bar was fairly yummy in it’s spiciness.

Ginger Snap nutritional information

A lot of the nutritional information was a good read – like seeing that the bar was high in protein (5g, 10% DV) and high in fiber (5g, 21% DV).  I think the one drawback to the bar is it’s high fat content (14g, 21% DV).  It’s fairly high calorie for such a small bar – the bar is only 1.8oz., which is smaller than your average granola bar.  I’m attributing most of this to the high content of nuts in the product.  Either way, I personally would rather eat one of these than the sugar laden super processed granola bars you get in the cereal aisle of your local supermarket.

All in all I was pleasantly surprised at the chewiness and pleasantness of flavour I found in the Ginger Snap Larabar.  Healthy doesn’t have to mean dry and tasteless, and Larabar has produced a bar I’m sure that most non-vegans would love just as much as vegans do.  If you come across them, give them a try.  They come in sixteen flavours, and if you can’t find them at your local Whole Food Market or health food store, you can pick them up online at the Larabar Online Store.

Keep an eye out for my reviews of the other three flavours I’ve been sent: Apple Pie, Lemon Bar and Chocolate Chip Brownie!

One thought on “Review: Larabars Ginger Snap!

  1. 13thfaerie says:

    I might have to try these out. I love ginger too, and they sound pretty tasty.

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Thrift store coffee cup score "Smile" by Z.Grimm (c) 2017 #yborart #tampaart (reposted to correct crop) Still working #tampaart #yborart #wanderingeyegallery @wanderingeyegallery
