Upcoming Doctor’s Appointment, Bloodwork?

4

November 12, 2011 by Zuri

Most people who have known me for any length of time know that I get sick pretty easily.  I mean really easily.  If there’s a bug going around, I’ll most likely catch it.  If it took you a few days to get over it, it’ll take me a week or two.  A simple case of a sore throat will put me in the Emergency Room with severe tonsillitis.  It’s always been like this, since I was a kid.  No one has ever been able to come up with a reason why.

Now, as a 37 year old adult, I’m constantly plagued with feelings of fatigue and unwellness, under the weather and brain fogginess.  When I wake up in the morning, I struggle to keep myself awake, and have to constantly be prodded to keep myself upright.  What’s wrong with me?  I have no idea, but I would love to have answers.

In 2002, I was diagnosed with Fibromyalgia, believed by my doctor to be related to an auto accident from 2000.  My doctor at the time implied that this could be a likely reason for my constant fatigue and malaise, but I’ve always hated the vagueness of my diagnosis.  A diagnosis based on elimination like Fibromyalgia is leaves me with very little faith in it.  It’s easier to believe in something that has concrete test results, y’know?

I take muscle relaxers to deal with the pain from the Fibro when it flares up, which isn’t as often as it used to be, but the fatigue and malaise are still omnipresent, and as of late, worse than ever.  It’s effecting my ability to get anything done in life, from getting up to walk in the evenings, to cleaning my apartment.  I just can’t find the strength or energy to get anything done.  At all.  Ever.

Needle

Who's up for a little bloodletting?

Thankfully, I have a new primary care doctor at the Clinic, and she’s ordered some baseline bloodwork.  I’m hoping that maybe some of the tests might show a bit of why I’m so tired all the time.  She’s concerned over the high prevalence of Diabetes and Cancer in my family (both my parents died in their fifties of cancer, and diabetes runs on both sides of the family), so she’s sent for fasting blood sugar, thyroid levels (also runs in my family, and I’ve tested positive for antibodies in the past) and your standard CBC stuff.  My appointment to go back is on Saturday the 19th.  I’ll post a followup blog entry with the results from the bloodwork, and if she has any further ideas as to why I’m suffering these symptoms.

Wish me luck!

4 thoughts on “Upcoming Doctor’s Appointment, Bloodwork?

  1. montemplar says:

    I’m used to having blood samples taken now, as part of the ongoing treatment to monitor my Wegener’s (thankfully, still in remission!) Here’s hoping the people at the bloodtest clinic are pleasant to deal with! *fingerscrossed*

  2. Lindsay says:

    I do the same thing — I get sicker, get sicker more easily, and stay sicker longer than anybody else I know. Nobody’s ever been able to figure my issues out either — lupus? Some random autoimmune thing? Just the way it is? Who knows?! It’s irritating. I have found that the Ambien and lots of vitamin D are helping, but I’m still pretty fragile.

    I hope your doctor finds something she can help with!! If she does, I might suggest it to my own … 🙂

    • Murdercakes says:

      I haven’t been able to find anyone in my area who will prescribe me Ambien, even though I was on it back when I was living in Connecticut. I just deal with my insomnia and daytime sleepiness as best I can. I’ve been tested in the past for lupus, lyme disease, and a host of other things, but it all came up negative. Again, that was back in 2000-2002. We’ll see how the tests turn out this time. Thanks for commenting, Lindsay *hug*

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Thrift store coffee cup score "Smile" by Z.Grimm (c) 2017 #yborart #tampaart (reposted to correct crop) Still working #tampaart #yborart #wanderingeyegallery @wanderingeyegallery
