Recipe: Easy Garlic Miso Noodles!

1

January 7, 2012 by Zuri

Hello All!  This week I’ve been sorely shy on vegetables, and still won’t be able to do any grocery shopping until tomorrow.  This makes me terribly sadface, because I’m dying for some spinach!  Because of that, I kind of had to finagle a lunch this week using what I had on hand.  After searching Food Pair looking for a recipe that involves two ingredients I did have in my kitchen – miso and udon noodles – I finally came up with a recipe that was somewhat of a success.  I’d like to share it with you!

Garlic Miso Noodles

Serving size: 1

2 oz. udon noodles or spaghetti if you don’t have udon. (the udon comes in individual bundles, each a serving size, and each is 2 oz. in size)

2-3 garlic cloves, minced

Approximately 1/8 cup sesame oil (my measurement wasn’t exact on this, so it might be a little less)

1 tablespoon soy sauce

1/2 tablespoon miso (careful with this, miso is potent stuff, and very salty)

Cook udon in boiling water according to directions, which in my case was 3 minutes.  Drain.

Heat the sesame oil and garlic in a small skillet until the garlic is starting to brown a bit.  Add the soy sauce VERY CAREFULLY – it might spatter a bit.  Then add the miso and stir until all the lumps are out.  Add to the noodles.  Voila!  Done!

Really not a difficult lunch, and it leaves itself open to the possibility of adding plenty of vegetables later on, just increase the amount of sauce a bit to coat the vegetables too.  I’m dying to try this with some spinach and mushrooms (my two favourite veggies!).  I hope you like this quick little recipe.  I know it’s not all fancy shmancy, but I’m still a beginner cook, and I was quite pleased with myself that it didn’t completely suck.

I’ve got plans in mind for my next post – this one will be about sugar and our dependence on it – hopefully that’ll come out in the next day or two.  Until then, break out the noodles.  It’s noshing time!

One thought on “Recipe: Easy Garlic Miso Noodles!

  1. 13thfaerie says:

    This sounds delish!! I will have to try it sometime soon.

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Still going.  #workinprogress #wanderingeyegallery #painting #ontheeasel #yborart #tampaart #wip @wanderingeyegallery Guinan being playful, happy new year! Momma.
