Quick Blog: New Beginnings

Leave a comment

January 9, 2012 by Zuri

It’s Monday, and if I’m going to try something new, I try to do it on Mondays.  I don’t know, maybe somewhere in the back of my brain, it’s the first day of… something… so that’s where beginnings should be.

Last night Baron and I did some late evening grocery shopping to try and get some eats to hold us over til we could do more concrete grocery shopping on this upcoming Saturday.  We got a few things that are good for you, a few things that are maybe not so good, and did a ton of label reading.  We’ve been trying to keep an eye on things like fat content, calories, sodium and high fructose corn syrup and other sweeteners.  We’re not always successful, but at least we’re making the attempt.

My first step to Monday wellness was getting up at a reasonable hour, about 8am.  As someone who regularly sleeps until noon or beyond, it’s a bit jarring.  I waited my half an hour after taking my thyroid medication, and had a nice breakfast that consisted of peach yogurt, a banana, 1/4 cup of sunflower seeds and a glass of orange juice.  I even measured out the single serving size of sunflower seeds – go me!  The breakfast seemed healthy-ish, though sugar-heavy-ish.

The other thing I’m trying (after I get my living room cleaned up) is Yoga Journal’s 21-Day Yoga Challenge.  It started today, and (obviously) runs 21 days, with a new video each day.  They also have recommendations for eating at least one vegetarian meal a day, and an audio meditatinon as well.  I’ve needed to get back on the exercise bandwagon for a while now, so I figured this would be a good start.  Hopefully I’ll keep up with it. *crosses fingers*

Just a short blog post this time.  Hopefully I’ll keep up with these “resolutions” this time.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Thrift store coffee cup score "Smile" by Z.Grimm (c) 2017 #yborart #tampaart (reposted to correct crop) Still working #tampaart #yborart #wanderingeyegallery @wanderingeyegallery
