Thyroid Follow-up and Yoga Challenge Update!

2

January 13, 2012 by Zuri

Today was my follow-up appointment with the Clinic regarding my hypothyroidism and my thyroid hormone levels.  I went and got my bloodwork drawn last week and the results were excellent today.  They went from an 8 to a 1.2, which the doctor said was well within normal range.  I’ve got another follow-up in four weeks to make sure the levels aren’t fluctuating (which she says can happen sometimes).  Crossing my fingers that it’s not an issue.

She asked if I was feeling any better, and I commented that no, I felt the same, and was still having problems with constant headaches and fatigue.  She suggested I go on a multivitamin specifically with B12.  Since I had to go to Walgreen’s to get my prescription filled anyways, I figured I’d kill two birds with one stone and get a multivitamin as well.  Do you know how hard it was to find one that had B12 in it, so I wouldn’t have to buy a separate pill??  I ended up having to buy the generic Centrum Silver, which is typically for people over age 50.  I already have a Calcium supplement here at home, so I can add that to the mix.  I wanted to get a Fish Oil supplement for my Omega-3 and Omega-6 needs, but alas they were far too pricey.  Perhaps next payday?

Update on the Yoga Challenge!  I kind of failed a bit on this one.  Day one and two went by fine.  I was a bit shaky and unbalanced, which I attribute to being a complete and utter noob at yoga, but hey, at least I’m trying, right?  My cat, Gaz, seemed to think that me rolling around on the floor meant it was playtime, so she didn’t help matters any.  By day three, I woke up with stiffness and spasms in my back and shoulders.  I assumed this was because my body was adjusting to all the movement.  On day four, I had to work all day, and didn’t have time to exercise.  Shame on me.  Today is day five of the challenge, and I’m determined to get back on the ball.

I asked around a bit on Fitocracy if this kind of pain is normal and should I push through it, and was given the consensus that it’s to be expected, and I should just work through this transitional period, maybe adjusting my schedule to every other day instead of every day.  I might do that, I’m not sure yet.  I’d like to keep going with the yoga though.  I really like it.  Unfortunately, there’s nowhere in my area that I can find that’s affordable with my budget, especially that I can get to by bus.  There’s a YMCA up the street about twenty minutes from me, but the bus doesn’t go that way.  Sigh.

That’s it for the updates for now.  I’m still mulling over that post about sugar, and I have another post that might be up later today about a cookery surprise that Baron made for me the other day.  Toodle-oo!

2 thoughts on “Thyroid Follow-up and Yoga Challenge Update!

  1. hoskie says:

    Gonna have to be like Griffin McElroy and get a pill caddy for all your vitamins. XP

    “You [open my pill caddy and] see those immunity boosting super fruit gummies from Genesis Today – you know that this is a young man’s game.” #MBMBaM

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Lyta gets a #boop on my desk! #kittensofinstagram #catsofinstagram #Inktober drawing 18 - "Filthy". Nothing like mushrooms romping in the mud. #inktober2017  #twitchcreative #twitch  @inktober2017 #mushrooms  twitch.tv/spookeriffic  #inkdrawing #Inktober day 17, #graceful - the Deaths Head Moth. Very happy with the hands! #inktober2017 #twitchcreative #twitch #inkdrawing #deathsheadmoth @inktober2017 @inktober
