I Love Food! I Hate Exercising!

5

January 25, 2012 by Zuri

Sorry folks, this one is going to be a long one.

I love food!

This is kind of a recent realization to me.  It never occurred to me until now that this was the case.  In the last few years, I’ve become somewhat of a foodie, and I eat out way too much.  I consider this the result of living a more prosperous lifestyle than I have in the past.  We’re not well-off.  We’re only maybe lower middle class.  But I’m eating much better than I did years ago.

Four and a half years ago, I left my home state of Connecticut to live in more inexpensive pastures.  While I was living in Connecticut, I had no car, so I walked or bussed everywhere I needed to go.  Our budget was extremely tight.  Early on, it was a “ramen three times a day” budget.  Later on, we could afford better than ramen, but not much.  Many days I only ate one meal a day.  I weighed in at about 165lbs on my 5’7″ frame – about twenty pounds higher than my pre-pregnancy weight, which to me, wasn’t bad at all.  I wasn’t terribly unhappy with my weight at the time.  I know it wasn’t the healthiest of situations, but it was what it was.

Fast forward to four and a half years ago.  I moved and ended up in a better financial situation.  Three meals a day!  Wow!  A year later I moved again, and in with Baron, a self-professed butter addict.  There were three meals a day, junk food and dinners out.  My weight shot up from 165 to 205 in just over the first year.  I was floored.

Now I’m trying to make dietary changes, and having such a hard time with it.  Last night I had two and a half bowls of pasta slathered in ricotta cheese.  TWO AND A HALF BOWLS!  It tasted so good I couldn’t stop.  I gave myself a tummyache.  Sadface.  I know I want to eat better, and eat less, I just can’t get myself away from stuff that tastes just so damned good!  I don’t know if this means I have food addiction, or some kind of eating problem or what.

I’m not sure where to go next.  I really need some control in what I eat, and to get over my lack of willpower.  How do I reign in my out of control appetite?

I hate exercising!

I really, REALLY do.  Like I said before, back when I lived in Connecticut, I walked everywhere, and while I had difficulty sometimes (my fibromyalgia sometimes made walking difficult, I’d use a cane when things got too painful), it still got me where I needed to go.  Now, here in Florida, the city I live in is too spacious, and nothing I need is really within walking distance.  I have a car, and the convenience I think has adversely affected my activity level.  I know it has.

I would love to get more exercise into my routine, but I’ve had the damnedest time trying to find something that doesn’t bore me within a week’s time.  I can’t afford a gym membership, I don’t own a bike, and home exercise machines are out of my budget.  I tried doing some at home exercising – like yoga and pilates videos – but again, I got bored.  I was trying to walk every other day – two miles or more – but alas, bored again.

Why can’t I find the right exercise for me?  Is there such a thing?  Am I supposed to just push through it and do it anyways, no matter how bored or unenjoyable it is?  I’m jealous of all the blogs and posts I read about people thrilled about how many miles they’ve done on the treadmill or how many hills they’ve done on the exercise bike.  I want to feel that kind of pride in my accomplishments, too.

I guess that’s where I’m stuck at the moment.  Too much of one thing (food) and not enough of the other (exercise).  I need to figure out how to turn myself around and overcome these obstacles.  Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!  Do any of you out there run into the same problems I do?  Please share!

5 thoughts on “I Love Food! I Hate Exercising!

  1. Alan Ralph says:

    Hi Zuri,

    I’m not sure if it’s a food addiction you’re suffering from, or if you’re overeating to prolong the good feelings you derive from doing so. I’m not a doctor, nor do I play one on TV. I definitely think you should speak to your doctor about this, and see if they can refer you to someone who can sit down with you, go through why you’re overeating, and come up with a strategy to deal with the urge to gorge.

    Regarding exercise, perhaps you can do some exercises in the morning or at lunchtime when you’re in the kitchen doing other stuff – a few press-ups or push-ups against the worktop, do some stretches. My mum does that most days. Actually, I should do that as well, as I don’t do nearly enough exercise outside of my commute to and from work.

    {HUG}

    • Murdercakes says:

      I do overeat. I don’t know why I overeat. I mean, I’m not obese, and I’m not gaining weight, my weight has been plateaued at this point for a while. Also, I know that the medication I take causes weight gain, so that might have something to do with it as well.

      As far as exercising in my kitchen – you’ve never seen the size of my kitchen! It’s tiny! lol.

  2. bearrunner says:

    Thanks for the comment… I will be checking out your posts!

    Cheers

  3. Teri says:

    Obviously you just haven’t found the kind of exercise you like yet. Luckily, there are one bazillion types of physical activity you can do so there has to be something out there. You are in Fl, so exercising outside will be a sweaty mess at least 6 months of the year so I suggest getting a gym membership. Then, try everything! Look around and take every class you can handle at least five times before you decide if you hate it or not. Load up some music you love and use three cardio machines for ten minutes each, then take a yoga class.

    Exercising by yourself at home sounds grim, I love training and never would do that. Progress at your own pace and remember this is a lifetime thing, so have fun!

    • Murdercakes says:

      Unfortunately a gym membership is way out of my budget at the moment, which is why home exercise is the only way to go. I’ve got some research materials (books and the like) coming soon to help me learn home weight training with body weight. At least it’s somewhere to start. Also, there are yoga shows on Netflix I can use as well. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

#Inktober establishes I can't draw clouds, but I can draw tentacles. #inkdrawing #inktober2017 #twitch #twitchcreative twitch.tv/spookeriffic #tentacles #clouds #rain @inktober2017 Lyta gets a #boop on my desk! #kittensofinstagram #catsofinstagram #Inktober drawing 18 - "Filthy". Nothing like mushrooms romping in the mud. #inktober2017  #twitchcreative #twitch  @inktober2017 #mushrooms  twitch.tv/spookeriffic  #inkdrawing
