Do I run? Only when chased…

2

May 11, 2012 by Zuri

Wow, it’s been a while since I updated and I apologize for that.  I haven’t had much progress fitness-wise – with my diet or with exercise.  Finally, I have something to write about.

Couch to 5K

Vague you say?  Well hear me out.  I follow a lot of blogs.  A LOT of blogs.  Most of them are either food related or fitness blogs.  A good percentage of them also happen to be owned by runners.  I couldn’t understand it.  Why were they all runners?  What was the draw?

Honestly, I have to admit that I was a bit jealous of all these runners.  I felt like they had something I was missing.  Maybe it’s the sense of community.  Maybe it’s the ecstasy of the wind through your hair and the endorphins pumping through your body.  I don’t really know, but honestly, I was taken over by the green-eyed monster.  I was just plain jealous.

Recently, however, I got to thinking.  Sure, I’ve walked a few miles here and there, and didn’t have much problem with it.  Why not add some jogging in here and there?  Why not actually try running?  What’s it going to hurt?

I do worry about a few things.  I worry about the cost, because I can’t afford running shoes, so for now I’m stuck running in skate shoes (which can cause shin splints and other unpleasantness).  I worry I’ll be bored.  I just worry – it’s in my nature.

On to Couch to 5K.

It’s a training program that claims that in nine weeks you can go from a couch potato to running a 5K run (3.1 Miles) or 30 minutes, 3 days a week.  The program has a huge following and is held in high regard, or else I wouldn’t bother trying.  Now, part of what got me thinking hard about this was the fact that my walks were already 2.5 miles, and I didn’t think it was all that far.

It starts you off with some interval running – running faster for a short period of time, then slower for a short period of time.

I think this is a really good opportunity for me to get a bit more fitness into  my life.  I need to decide when I’m going to run – mornings or evenings (the heat is a big deciding factor), and what my route will be.  The roads around my apartment complex are super busy, so I’ll try my best to find something safe.

Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “Do I run? Only when chased…

  1. Amaia says:

    I down loaded that ap too.. I havent used it yet, so looking forward to hearing how it goes for you!

  2. Lindsay says:

    Luck!! I have trouble with shin splints, so I don’t much care for running, but it is extremely good exercise! Keep us posted; I’m really interested in how it goes for you.

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

#Inktober establishes I can't draw clouds, but I can draw tentacles. #inkdrawing #inktober2017 #twitch #twitchcreative twitch.tv/spookeriffic #tentacles #clouds #rain @inktober2017 Lyta gets a #boop on my desk! #kittensofinstagram #catsofinstagram #Inktober drawing 18 - "Filthy". Nothing like mushrooms romping in the mud. #inktober2017  #twitchcreative #twitch  @inktober2017 #mushrooms  twitch.tv/spookeriffic  #inkdrawing
