Update from the great beyond!

6

May 25, 2013 by Zuri

To Gym

 

Hi!  I know I haven’t really updated things, a lot has gone on in my life.  I’ve moved, I’ve changed my medication, my computers all died, just a lot of craziness going on.

Now for the update!

I just joined a gym.  My insurance company works with various gyms to provide memberships, and I got signed on to the local Gold’s Gym, right up the street from my new apartment.  I’m looking forward mostly to classes, not so much solo work to start.  Spinning, RPM, Yoga and Body Pump are high on my “to try” list.  I’ve heard both ups and downs about all of them, but I’m still willing to give them a shot.

My primary goal is to lose weight, starting at getting from 186 down to 165.  Secondary goal is to get from 165 to 145.  Surpassing the previous two goals, I am hoping to work on strength training after I have lost a sufficient amount of weight.

I realize that numbers on a scale aren’t really the goal of working out – that you should judge by the fit of your clothes and not by those numbers.  Judge also by how you feel!  It’s my hope that the gym will become my new addiction.  I’d be glad to have something so healthy become my newest fixation.

On a bit of a downer, I’ve had some medical problems – GI mostly – and I’ve been having difficulty getting answers from my doctors.  They’ll tell me “IBS and microscopic colitis”, but not tell me how to treat the symptoms, or what to eat that might help – or hinder.  All I was told was “google it”.  Way to go for professionalism.

In response, I am considering going back to Paleo again, and seeing if that helps at all.  It’ll be a difficult road but I need to find some way to ease the pain.  Wish me luck!

QUESTION: Do you have a gym membership?  What’s your favourite gym activity?

6 thoughts on “Update from the great beyond!

  1. It is sometimes hard to balance everything in life and blogging. Welcome back and best of luck with everything 🙂

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Still going.  #workinprogress #wanderingeyegallery #painting #ontheeasel #yborart #tampaart #wip @wanderingeyegallery Guinan being playful, happy new year! Momma.
