Nightmares, Clothes and Meat

2

June 17, 2013 by Zuri

I had a bad dream last night.  My first back-to-school related bad dream. I showed up for a science lecture and got a good seat, when I realized I wasn’t wearing my glasses. The teacher came in, real mean looking, and we had to sign in up front. I went to sign in, and found out it was a form I was supposed to print out and bring in, but I don’t have a working printer right now. In the end, it was the wrong class anyways. I hate dreams like that.

Neckties

I’m also doing a lot of examination on the clothes I wear.  I’ve had a lot of problems with the issue of either presenting as male, or just looking like a butch lesbian.  I don’t want to be stuck with the feminine identity of looking like a lesbian (since I’m not a lesbian, I’m transgender), but trying to find clothes that fit and “work” with me is proving difficult.  I’m kind of tired of the “jeans, tshirt, and button down” look.  It’s boring.  I’m also not keen on the “striped polo” look or the “sweater vest” look either.  They’re so… cliche?  I’ve been considering a button down vest or waistcoat with a shirt and a nice flashy silk tie.  Maybe.  I’m not entirely sure yet.

I hate clothes shopping.  Especially for things like men’s dress clothes.  I don’t like the idea of someone taking my measurements.  It’s awkward. I’ve cried in dressing rooms. But I looooooove neckties!  Always have!  I don’t want my dress to be boring.  I’ll have to keep an eye out for vests and ties that I fall in love with.  And I guess that means I’ll also have to get measured for shirts.  Sigh.

Meat.  I’m slowly growing a distaste for the stuff.  I’m reconsidering a voyage into some kind of vegetarianism.  I have constant cravings for fresh natural foods, fruits and veggies!  Meat is just so… heavy.  I eat it, and I feel icky.  I just had a turkey sammich with cheese, and I could barely finish it.  Just one sandwich!  Last night I couldn’t finish my pork chop.  Sure, it was a HUGE pork chop, but I had trouble swallowing it.  It’s just not working out for me.  The drawback is that living with other people (and not being the primary cook in the apartment) I end up compromising my own wants for the sake of everyone else’s dietary cravings.  I really want to stand up for my own wants/needs in this case.  I think it’s time to sit down and have a little talk.  I can live without meat.  Well, most meat.  Seafood is a toughie.  I’ll really miss seafood.  Looks like learning to make vegetarian sushi is going to be high on my list!

2 thoughts on “Nightmares, Clothes and Meat

  1. Lindsay says:

    Well, you don’t have to give up seafood if you don’t want to! There’s nothing wrong with just eating the things you like and crave without putting a label on it, yknow?

    I love the idea of vests and ties, for sure. Link to some ties you like so we can see!!

    • Rev. Z says:

      Thanks for commenting! I’ve considered pescetarian (which is just fish/seafood), but I have to see what I can manage. I agree with lack of labels! And I’ve been going nutty on Ebay looking for ties, maybe I’ll do an entire post of nothing but ties! Thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Lyta gets a #boop on my desk! #kittensofinstagram #catsofinstagram #Inktober drawing 18 - "Filthy". Nothing like mushrooms romping in the mud. #inktober2017  #twitchcreative #twitch  @inktober2017 #mushrooms  twitch.tv/spookeriffic  #inkdrawing #Inktober day 17, #graceful - the Deaths Head Moth. Very happy with the hands! #inktober2017 #twitchcreative #twitch #inkdrawing #deathsheadmoth @inktober2017 @inktober
