Fretting and food.

1

January 13, 2014 by Zuri

Me trying to memorize #Spanish I think I'm going to fail this course. 😦

A post shared by Zuri Grimm (@spookeriffic) on

This is me, trying to memorize Spanish.

I’ve been trying to follow my Profesora’s syllabus and course schedule, but I really don’t understand it at all.  I’m doing the flashcards, I’m watching the videos, and I’m doing the exercises, but it’s not sinking in.  I’m really starting to stress out over this class.  If I don’t get some contextual work – and not just videos – I’m going to fail this class.  I need to actually be SPEAKING the language with someone else if I’m going to learn the material.  She said on day one that the course was designed for someone who has zero experience with foreign languages (which is me!) so I’m hoping the in-class work will be more useful.  We’ll see.  I’m not feeling confident though.

Food, glorious food!

I had to cook dinner tonight and as most people know, I can’t cook.  Well, I guess I CAN cook, I know the basics, I’m just not very good at it.  Tonight I made rice for the first time (and it didn’t turn out badly) and cooked up some pinto beans.  I marinated some tofu in a Spanish marinade and baked it.  Right now I’m waiting for it to come out of the oven so we can eats some nice, vegetarian food.  I probably should have made a vegetable too, but hey, hindsight being 20/20 and all.

Once money is a little less tight, I’ll be purchasing a bunch of vegetarian staples and more fresh produce.  I’m also picking up in the coming months a larger Foreman grill (with removable plates!) and a new blender/juicer to replace the Lalanne juicer that I broke last year *sheepish*.  I really want to make a serious effort at vegetarianism this year.  I just feel better when I’m not weighed down by all that meat.  I’ll start doing food reviews once I start purchasing more select items (like protein powder or ground meat substitute).  I’ll also review recipes that I try out.  I have a huge Pinterest board full of ideas, and also a bunch of cookbooks and crock pot recipes to try out too!  This will be a season of experimentation *insert evil cackle here*

That’s all for now, gonna go back to cooking and studying.  Ta!

One thought on “Fretting and food.

  1. lamadeleine94 says:

    I know exactly how you feel, I’m trying to learn some French verbs and they’re not sinking in at all! And I’ve got an exam tomorrow! Good luck with your Spanish 🙂

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Still going.  #workinprogress #wanderingeyegallery #painting #ontheeasel #yborart #tampaart #wip @wanderingeyegallery Guinan being playful, happy new year! Momma.
