A few updates, and the results of my Spanish exam.

Leave a comment

February 15, 2014 by Zuri

Hello readers!  I’m typing on my own laptop, finally!  My wifi card was bad and my netbook won’t charge, so I’ve been without my own computer for around three weeks.  It finally came back from Best Buy with a new wifi card, a new hard drive, and hopefully a fix to all the problems it’s been having.  Working fine so far, fingers crossed.

I’ll be trying out another video game soon. My friend Patrik in Sweden was sweet enough to buy me a copy of The Secret World so that I could play with him.  I’ve heard good (and bad) things about the game, but I’m willing to give it a try.  I’ll post updates on my experiences with the game as I progress into gameplay.

On to the Spanish exam:

I took the exam, in class, much to my chagrin.  Normally I would take the test in the testing center, but my Professor wouldn’t allow it, because she said that the exam involved an auditory component that had to be played in class.  I spoke to the Disability office, who spoke with her, and while she will test in the testing center if I need it, she thinks that I would be better served by taking it in class.  I don’t know what to do, really.  I hate rocking the boat.  She also commented that I’m one of her best students, hard working, and she feels I’m going to do well in the class.

The test itself wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be.  I did well on the multiple choice, and I aced the map portion of the test.  As far as the written portion goes, I got a 19 out of 39, which is kind of pitiful, but I suck at verb conjugation and can’t remember how to form complete sentences.  All totaled, I got a 77.

Now, there’s some problems that popped up with the grading.  There were two versions of the test – test A and test B.  I got test B.  For some reason, the scantron answer key for test B was faulty, and it incorrectly graded everyone’s test who took test B.  For example: Side 1 of the scantron had 50 questions.  I got 5 wrong.  It graded that side as a 32.  I know Math isn’t my strong suit, but last time I checked, 50 – 5 does not equal 32.  She took back the tests and hand graded all of them.  My original test score of 62 (which is failing) jumped up to a 77 – a fifteen point difference!  And also, the difference between passing and failing.  Oi.

In addition to my Spanish homework, I have an upcoming informative speech due on the Winchester Mystery House, and my Ethnographic Research Project about yoga.  I’ve got a lot on my plate right now, and I need to budget my time accordingly.

I’m also working on cleaning up my apartment.  There’s a bug problem that I just can’t seem to get rid of, and I finally got a few more bookshelves and fancy shmancy boxes to unpack more stuff, and try and get organized.  I have plans to create and hang some original artwork, and to get a nice throw rug.  I need to figure out something to do about the couch seat cushions, as the fabric is now fraying on them.  I guess the brocade wasn’t made to withstand heavy use.  I also need to get a tablecloth for my dining table, as the top of it is incredibly beat, and the cushions on the chairs need to be replaced (which isn’t as hard as it sounds).  I just need to get the right supplies, and a decent staple gun.

So, readers, what’s going on in your lives?  Post below!  ❤

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Lyta gets a #boop on my desk! #kittensofinstagram #catsofinstagram #Inktober drawing 18 - "Filthy". Nothing like mushrooms romping in the mud. #inktober2017  #twitchcreative #twitch  @inktober2017 #mushrooms  twitch.tv/spookeriffic  #inkdrawing #Inktober day 17, #graceful - the Deaths Head Moth. Very happy with the hands! #inktober2017 #twitchcreative #twitch #inkdrawing #deathsheadmoth @inktober2017 @inktober
