Craft Supplies, Art, and Goodness!

Leave a comment

February 20, 2014 by Zuri

I’ve been dying for something fun to play with, and recently I got back into painting for a bit.  I finally completed my first painting in a while, and I love how vibrant it turned out.

"Narayan" completed. #acrylics #painting

A post shared by Zuri Grimm (@spookeriffic) on

I immediately started to work on a second one, but it’s not turning out as I’d like.  It lacks the vibrancy of the first one, because I put the colors down in the wrong order – I should have made the background blue, and the foreground purple, and not the other way around.  Now the background is very dark, and doesn’t have much of a ‘punch’ to it.  Here’s an early photo of the painting:

New painting started #acrylics #painting

A post shared by Zuri Grimm (@spookeriffic) on

In other news, I spoke with someone yesterday about jewelry making – I have many friends who are awesome craftspeople – and I got an itching to make kandi cuffs again.  This was an idea I had ages ago, but never got around to trying.  On a bit of a whim, I clipped a 40% off coupon for Michael’s and dashed out to the store, picking up 2,450 pony beads in a rainbow of colors (150 of them are stars!).

Pony bead bonanza. 2450 beads for $13. And some pink paracord. Just cus. #kandi

A post shared by Zuri Grimm (@spookeriffic) on

I’m not sure what I’m going to do with them yet, but I’ll be surfing the web for ideas and adding them to my Pinterest folder “Kandi”.  Sure, maybe I’m a little old for the rave scene, but I’m not to old to enjoy fun, candy colored jewelry and the act of creating fun things!  I think this will be an interesting little side project.

I’ve had more ideas as well – I’d like to try and make my own rosary.  It would be black beads (whether jet, glass, I don’t know) with a double dorje pendant on it, or perhaps a dharma wheel.  Depends on what kind of pendant I can acquire for the rosary.  I just love how rosaries look and feel.  As a child, I had one hanging on my wall, a gift from my grandmother.  It even hung on my wall my freshman year of college.  It was only a pink plastic rosary, and a second one that was crocheted from grey thread.  But they were special to me.  I’d like to see if I can reproduce that kind of awesomeness.

That’s all from the crafty scene.  Are you working on any new projects?  Feel free to share below!  I’d love to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Still going.  #workinprogress #wanderingeyegallery #painting #ontheeasel #yborart #tampaart #wip @wanderingeyegallery Guinan being playful, happy new year! Momma.
