Gym time!

2

March 12, 2014 by Zuri

I got a gym membership this week at Planet Fitness.  No balking about PF, please, it was in my budget and up the street from where I live.  I’m sure I’ll upgrade to a “real” gym once I get my momentum rolling, but this year, it’ll be PF all the way.  So play nice.

Today was Day 2.  I’ve been spending about an hour to an hour and a half there.  Did some cardio on the treadmill to warm up, and moved over to their 30 minute circuit.  I like the circuit because the weight limits are adjustable, and it’s structured.  I like structure.  While I’ve been working up a sweat, I feel like maybe I’ve been going a little easy on myself.  For now I’ll keep going with this plan, since I’m just starting out.  Baby steps?  Maybe.  But it’s a habit I want to maintain, and I don’t want to burn myself out with unrealistic expectations.

I’ve got an appointment with one of their trainers on Saturday morning, and he’ll go over the machines with me and help me figure out what might work best for me.  I don’t want to puss out, seriously.  I don’t want to be afraid anymore.  I seriously want to achieve something with my weight and strength.  I think this is a good start.

I’ve started posting at Nerd Fitness again, and a little at Spark People (though I don’t like that site so much).  Next step is to clean up my diet.  No more soda or junk food.  That’s right out.  I really want to get this right this time.  I’d like to increase my vegetarian percentage, and come up with some healthy recipes that I can whip up in a jiff.  Goals goals goals!

That’s it for now.  I’ll post more another time, for now, we’re gonna go out and get a big salad for dinner.  Yum!

2 thoughts on “Gym time!

  1. Awesome. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Lyta gets a #boop on my desk! #kittensofinstagram #catsofinstagram #Inktober drawing 18 - "Filthy". Nothing like mushrooms romping in the mud. #inktober2017  #twitchcreative #twitch  @inktober2017 #mushrooms  twitch.tv/spookeriffic  #inkdrawing #Inktober day 17, #graceful - the Deaths Head Moth. Very happy with the hands! #inktober2017 #twitchcreative #twitch #inkdrawing #deathsheadmoth @inktober2017 @inktober
