Discouragement and Encouragement

Leave a comment

March 14, 2014 by Zuri

earbuds

Today I was searching ye olde Internet for quick vegetarian breakfast ideas.  I like looking for recipes and things on blogs, rather than on the big recipe sites, because it adds a more personal touch, and you’re more likely to get a decent review of the recipe.

The only bummer is stumbling on those people that I’m really jealous of – the fitness buffs.  Runners, especially.  Lots of posts about all their successes, it gets a little discouraging at times.  I can barely lift 15lbs, and here are people running half marathons!  I wish I could run, I wish I could find running interesting in more than an academic sense.  In all honesty I find running – and by extension, walking – to be incredibly dull.  I wish I could be like them and find some enjoyment in it.  I wonder what kind of person I would be if instead of partaking in other hobbies I’ve had in my younger years, I’d taken up running instead?

I’m more encouraged that I’ve finally started hitting the gym – as much of a gym as I’m a member of – but I think I’ve overdone it rather early on, as my arms (near the inside crease of my elbows) are extremely sore and stiff.  I tried doing some yoga and stretching today to try and loosen things up, and it helped for a little while, but it’s all stiff again.

I get discouraged when I see fit people, and worry that I don’t have the dedication, the drive or the ability to reach my fitness goals.  I get small tastes of encouragement when I do go to the gym, and the time flies by.  I have my concerns though.  I don’t know if I can do what I’m aiming to do – which is to lose 41 lbs.  The goal seems unattainable.  It’s been 21 years since I’ve been that size, and maybe my body is set in it’s ways?  I don’t know.

I know what I want to do.  I’m taking the steps necessary to do them.  In the end, however, I worry if my efforts just aren’t good enough?

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Thrift store coffee cup score "Smile" by Z.Grimm (c) 2017 #yborart #tampaart (reposted to correct crop) Still working #tampaart #yborart #wanderingeyegallery @wanderingeyegallery
