Financial Aid Suspension… WTH?

Leave a comment

May 13, 2014 by Zuri

I’ve been placed on financial aid suspension.  That means my financial aid for the 2014-2015 school year has been denied.  They’re saying it’s because my completion ratio is 64%, and it needs to be 67%.  Nevermind that I’ve completed my last eight classes.  Nevermind they were six A’s and two B’s.  Nevermind making Dean’s List.  Nevermind that the classes they’re basing this on are classes that I screwed up on 21 years ago – when I was 17!

They’ve informed me that it might take another two or three 3 credit classes to get my completion ratio over 67%.  I’m taking 4 credits this summer, which are already paid for, but I can’t afford to pay out-of-pocket costs to take classes in the hopes of bringing my ratio up!  I mean, isn’t that what financial aid is for??

I’m working on the paperwork for my appeal.  I need to explain to them what happened 20 years ago to make me do so miserably.  Hard to provide documentation on things that happened 20 years ago.  Hopefully they’ll accept what little I can provide to them.  I’ve got the Counseling office and the Disability office both backing me up, and my current track record of a 3.6 GPA for my time here… If I lose my financial aid, and the slackers who never attend class and barely do their work, squeaking by with C’s and D’s keep theirs, I’m going to be SUPREMELY pissed off.

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Thrift store coffee cup score "Smile" by Z.Grimm (c) 2017 #yborart #tampaart (reposted to correct crop) Still working #tampaart #yborart #wanderingeyegallery @wanderingeyegallery
