Financial Aid Suspension – Appeal Denied!

2

May 27, 2014 by Zuri

I can’t believe this.

Despite getting a 3.4 gpa in the Spring semester, and 4.0/Dean’s List the Fall semester, my financial aid appeal didn’t go through.  What does this mean?  No more Pell Grant, no more Student Loans.  I no longer have the funds to continue my college education.  It looks like game over.

It’s been suggested to me that I crowd source for the funds, but I kind of doubt that anyone would be interested in helping me stay in school, especially with my poor track record from 20 years ago.  This depresses me so hard.  I worked my ass off to get good grades, and to succeed to the best of my ability, and in the end, it didn’t mean anything.  Even at my best, I wasn’t good enough.

If I had one more semester to prove myself, I’d be able to get my completion ratio above what I need to keep my financial aid, but I can’t afford that.  My disability wasn’t enough to convince them to give me a second chance.  Neither was my current track record.  Or the fact that my completion ratio is currently 64%, and it needs to reach 67%.

I have no idea what I’m going to do with myself now.

2 thoughts on “Financial Aid Suspension – Appeal Denied!

  1. I’m so sorry that’s really unfortunate but don’t give up! If you want to, there must somewhere be a way, even if it’s a little farther in the future than you expected.
    Best of luck,
    Alyssa

    • Zuri says:

      Thanks Alyssa. It’s hard to see the silver lining on this cloud right now, but I’m going to go speak to the financial aid officials tomorrow after class.
      Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Thrift store coffee cup score "Smile" by Z.Grimm (c) 2017 #yborart #tampaart (reposted to correct crop) Still working #tampaart #yborart #wanderingeyegallery @wanderingeyegallery
