Android App Review – Librivox

Leave a comment

May 30, 2014 by Zuri

Right now, I’m thoroughly sick.  Like, super duper sick.  My doctor gave me a double dose of antibiotics (both by injection and by prescription) and told me to rest and drink plenty of fluids.  I feel awful, so I’m taking the advice to heart.

I decided to go to bed early the other night, mostly to rest, because I wasn’t particularly sleepy.  I have no TV in my bedroom, and I really wasn’t interested in listening to music, so I poked around the Google Play store to find something interesting to listen to.  Enter LibriVox.

librivox

LibriVox is a free app in the Google Play store that lets you stream audiobooks, read by LibriVox volunteers.  There’s plenty of classics in there, Dracula, Frankenstein, etc. and authors such as HG Wells and HP Lovecraft.  I decided to lie in bed and listen to the collected works of HP Lovecraft (love it!).

Some readers are better than others, and because not everyone is a professional, there is the occasional stammer.  It functions best if you have your phone connected to Wifi, as not to use up all your phone’s data allotment.  Some stories are in there multiple times, with different readers.  There are ratings for all the books, up to five stars.

I recommend this app to people who enjoy audiobooks, like me.  It’s good for travel, and has a huge selection of books to choose from.  Give it a try!

NOTE:  This is a FREE app, that I use myself, and I was not compensated in any way for this review.

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Lyta gets a #boop on my desk! #kittensofinstagram #catsofinstagram #Inktober drawing 18 - "Filthy". Nothing like mushrooms romping in the mud. #inktober2017  #twitchcreative #twitch  @inktober2017 #mushrooms  twitch.tv/spookeriffic  #inkdrawing #Inktober day 17, #graceful - the Deaths Head Moth. Very happy with the hands! #inktober2017 #twitchcreative #twitch #inkdrawing #deathsheadmoth @inktober2017 @inktober
