Food: Cooking Adventures “Curry” and “Veggie Lasagna Cups”

Leave a comment

June 27, 2014 by Zuri

More cooking adventures!  Yesterday, I tried to make curry.  I chopped up a boatload of vegetables: spinach, carrots, mushrooms, broccoli (and not in the photo: onions, baby corn and pineapple)…

Gettin ready to make some veggie #curry #vegetarian

A post shared by Zuri Grimm (@spookeriffic) on

That’s the only picture I have, because the curry was a bit of a failure.  It was ugly to look at, the broccoli was overcooked and it tasted… odd.  I later discovered why I didn’t like the taste:  I’m accustomed to the dairy in curry being coconut milk, where the recipe I used called for plain yogurt, so it was a much more tart, much less sweet curry.  The yogurt also isn’t as creamy as the coconut milk, so it looked like it was trying to separate.  All-in-all, I’ll chalk this one up to lesson learned.  Next time, coconut milk.

Tonight’s adventure went much more succesfully!  I decided to make use of some wonton wrappers I had in the fridge, and made mini vegetable lasagnas in cupcake tins – a recipe I’d been dying to try for a while!

Mini lasagnas fresh out of the oven! #vegetarian

A post shared by Zuri Grimm (@spookeriffic) on

The first new thing I got to do was make a cheese sauce.  This particular recipe didn’t call for red sauce, of which I am thankful, because my stomach doesn’t always enjoy tomato acid.  The recipe called for Asiago, but I didn’t have any on hand (and right now I’m on a very scant budget), so I used the cheddar that I had in the fridge.  Milk, cheddar cheese, flour, and blammo!  Cheese sauce!  Score one for food adventures!

Next came the veg.  In a skillet I put a little oil, and some diced up orange bell pepper, mushrooms and spinach.  I considered broccoli, but maybe next time, I didn’t think I would have room.  In hindsight, I should have chopped up more vegetables, because towards the end I ran out. Bummer.

I combined pesto and ricotta to make the filling, and then alternated a wonton wrapper, ricotta mix, cheese sauce, and veggies in a greased cupcake tin.  Repeat.  Pop in a 375F oven for 19 minutes, til the tips of the wonton wrappers brown.  Viola!

Mini veggie lasagnas! #vegetarian

A post shared by Zuri Grimm (@spookeriffic) on

Plus: They were very cheesy, and I love cheese!  I didn’t realize how much I had missed ricotta until I tasted it.  The veggies didn’t get overly soft, which is good.  I like a bit of “tooth” in my veg.  It was super easy to put together and quick to cook.  They popped out of the greased cupcake tin with zero effort.  There’s a lot of creativity that can be taken with the recipe, changing cheeses and veggies to your heart’s content!

Downside:  Really needed more veggies, I totally didn’t chop up enough.  I might go lighter on the cheese sauce too.  I also forgot salt and pepper – d’oh!  I have such a hard time remembering salt and pepper.

I think next time I try this, I’ll try a different cheese, add in the broccoli, and try to overstuff them a little bit.  I’d also like to get the extra large size cupcake tins and make bigger ones, I think they’ll be more appropriate for dinner.  The tiny ones just feel like snacking.  But, oh, what a terrific snack!

THE ORIGINAL RECIPE I USED CAN BE FOUND HERE.

I’ll be doing another food adventure later tonight, though I don’t think I’ll be doing a blog post on it because of it’s simplicity.  I picked up a package of flour tortillas and I’ll be making them into chips.  I’m thinking of maybe doing a sweet and a savory flavored variety – salt and lime for one, maybe honey or agave for the other?  I’ll figure it out later.  Also this weekend I’ll be making a second attempt at making crunchy chickpeas.  My last attempt produced chewy, not crunchy, chickpeas, though the flavor (agave, soy, salt) was actually really good.

Thanks for enduring my adventures in newbie cooking!

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Lyta gets a #boop on my desk! #kittensofinstagram #catsofinstagram #Inktober drawing 18 - "Filthy". Nothing like mushrooms romping in the mud. #inktober2017  #twitchcreative #twitch  @inktober2017 #mushrooms  twitch.tv/spookeriffic  #inkdrawing #Inktober day 17, #graceful - the Deaths Head Moth. Very happy with the hands! #inktober2017 #twitchcreative #twitch #inkdrawing #deathsheadmoth @inktober2017 @inktober
