Classes, debt, and a new hobby

Leave a comment

August 23, 2014 by Zuri

Well, with a huge stroke of luck, a friend has loaned me the money to take two classes this fall.  I have to pay it back (plus the credit card interest) soon, hopefully it’ll work out ok.  I’m taking European History and Topics in Mathematics.  If things work out how I’m hoping they will, my Financial Aid will be reinstated for next semester, and I’ll be able to finish off my AA.  Yay!

The semester started yesterday with my Math class.  The teacher seemed alright, if a little awkward.  Thus far it’s nothing but definitions.  My History class is on Monday, and I’m worried about it.  I think it’s a Gordon Rule class, which means there will be writing assignments involved.  I hate that Gordon guy and his Rules (whoever he is).

Because I’m going to have a lot more free time on my hands, having only taken half the classes I normally would, I needed to find something to occupy my time.  I know I have the painting (you can see my paintings at Art Punx Studio) but I usually finish those in 2 days, maybe 3.  I wanted something long term.  Enter jewelry making – specifically, chainmaille.

I’ve always wanted to make jewelry, and maille has always fascinated me.  I look at those little rings and my brain picks apart the patterns and figures out how to arrange the rings to build them.  My head has a tendency to reverse engineer things like that, anything that has a distinct pattern.  I’ve already done byzantine, helm, barrel and made a star.  I’m not using the proper ring sizes yet (just cheapo rings from Joann’s) , but I’m hoping maybe if I save my pennies I can order real rings in the right sizes.

Below are some photos of what I’ve been working on.  I’ve got ideas I’d like to experiment with – like making a rosary and making a choker utilizing cowrie shells – but I’m still designing them in my head for the time being.  If you’d like to keep an eye on my future maille work, feel free to subscribe to my Instagram feed, I post my experiments there.

Time for me to get some rest, I haven’t been well lately and the painkillers the doctor gave me have me a bit loopy.  TTFN!

Byzantine Choker

Byzantine Choker

Rainbow Shaggy Loops with Pony Beads

Rainbow Shaggy Loops with Pony Beads

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

"I Feel Sick" still more work to do... #wip #ontheeasel #art #lowbrowart #yborart #tampaart My kittums. Left: Lyta, age 6mos, right top: Vyvyan, age ~14yo, and right bottom, Guinan, ~2yo.  All rescues.

#catrescue #catsofinstagram #kittensofinstagram #kittycat #kitties "I Feel Sick" WIP. I put in the final background color, it really pops! #tampaart #yborart #artistsoninstagram #artist #ontheeasel
