Food Adventure: Crunchy Chickpeas, part deux!f

2

September 6, 2014 by Zuri

Today was the day I decided to re-try making crunchy chickpeas.  There are about a gazillion recipes on the ‘net for this tasty treat, some say 350 degrees, some say 425, some say 15 minutes, others say 45, it took a lot of digging to find something I could use.  So here’s what I did.

I took half a can of chickpeas (didn’t want to waste a whole can if they didn’t turn out properly again – I’ll use the rest in chickpea salad later…) drained, rinsed and patted them dry with paper towels.  I oiled them slightly with olive oil and put them on a baking sheet sprayed with cooking spray.  I spread them out on the sheet and cooked them at 400F for 15 minutes, took them out, shook them up a bit, and cooked them again for 15 minutes.

After that, I took them out, put them in a bowl and added honey, hoisin and salt (just a little, enough to coat), They went back in for ten more minutes and viola – done!  

They actually came out crunchy this time – yay! They’re a little sweet, a little salty, and pretty darned tasty.  I’ll be trying other seasoning tactics on this one, now that I have the cook times down properly!  There’s plenty of ideas out there for toppings, just check Pinterest for more interesting combinations.

That’s all for now.  One more cooking adventure successfully in the bag!

Fried chickpeas done right! #vegetarian #vegan

A post shared by Zuri Grimm (@spookeriffic) on

2 thoughts on “Food Adventure: Crunchy Chickpeas, part deux!f

  1. Your chickpeas look absolutely delicious! Such an interesting twist to add honey – I’ll have to try that next time. If you have a minute, I’d love your thoughts on my baked chickpeas 🙂 http://goodfoodmarsh.wordpress.com/2014/09/04/vegan-bonanaza-vegan-mofo-3/

    • Zuri says:

      Thanks for commenting, I’ll pop over there now. Yep, added honey, I wanted something sweet. Unfortunately it looks like I’ll have to cut honey out of my diet. Bummer.

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Still going.  #workinprogress #wanderingeyegallery #painting #ontheeasel #yborart #tampaart #wip @wanderingeyegallery Guinan being playful, happy new year! Momma.
