Possible Medical Problem

2

September 14, 2014 by Zuri

I was in the Emergency Room night before last for six hours with abdominal pain like you would not believe.  I had been having mild, bearable abdominal pain for a while now, but this  had me doubled over in tears and kind of loopy from the pain.  After sitting through a CT scan, the results came at a possible IBD diagnosis.  I need to go see my doctor (again) and get in touch with a GI doctor (again) to see if I can get an actual diagnosis.  Until then, they’ve put me on Cipro and Flagyl (both antibiotics) and Percocet (a painkiller) in the hopes of pushing whatever inflammation that is causing all this pain into remission.  I read somewhere that this is a typical tactic for Crohn’s Disease flare ups.

The problem that I’m having now is… I don’t know what to eat.  I’m so nauseated that I can barely get anything in me, and I’m paranoid everything I eat is going to cause pain, nausea, and other GI symptoms.  So far today I had three plain chicken dumplings and some tea.  I couldn’t stomach the dipping sauce, it was too harsh.  I’ll most likely have to give up eating vegetarian, because the high fiber content of the diet might worsen my symptoms.  I’m not happy with having to deal with this right now, it’s disruptive to school and the rest of my life, but I’m thankful that maybe at this point there’s finally a diagnosis at the end of the tunnel for me.  Being in pain for so long, just getting a name to it is a huge step forward.  Hopefully my doctor’s office takes this seriously and doesn’t blow off my concerns yet again.

2 thoughts on “Possible Medical Problem

  1. Matthew says:

    Good luck! Keep us posted!

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Thrift store coffee cup score "Smile" by Z.Grimm (c) 2017 #yborart #tampaart (reposted to correct crop) Still working #tampaart #yborart #wanderingeyegallery @wanderingeyegallery
