Starving!

8

October 5, 2014 by Zuri

The doctor’s idea to go gluten and FODMAP free, I didn’t realize was going to be as difficult as it is.  Without a dietitian to help, I’m seriously lost, and as a result, barely eating.

I’m not used to eating a lot of meat, and it seems that if I want filling food, I’ll have to seriously up my protein intake.  Subsisting on fruits and veggies is so unsatisfying.  Sure, it tastes good, but I’m hungry ALL THE DAMNED TIME.  Tonight’s dinner should be nice and filling, but it’s only 4pm, it’s not time to even start cooking yet.  Maybe if I take some hints from paleo followers, and prepare some foods in advance – like hard boiled eggs, grilled chicken breasts, burgers, etc.?  That might help?

I’ve been getting a lot of help from the Living Happy with IBS website, to the point where I’ve sent an email to the site’s owner (no response yet).  I’ve also been scouring Pinterest for food ideas like I usually do, but once you type in “gluten free” all you ever get is baking responses.  I’m not interested in baked goods.  It’s everything else that has me scrambling.  I got a magazine this week about cooking for allergies, and the gluten free section?  All baked goods.  Breads. Cookies. Cupcakes.  That’s it.

We went to Trader Joe’s yesterday, and tried some of their rotini rice pasta.  Thankfully, it was actually really good, and the price is right ($1.99 a bag).  I didn’t have a lot of time to scour the shelves for other stuff I can eat, but maybe another time.  I also need to stop out at Whole Foods and Fresh Market and see what I can find there as well.  I need to do some more research into what they carry and come in with a list.  Much better course of action!

Do you have any dietary restrictions, and how have you dealt with them?  Leave a comment below and let me know!

8 thoughts on “Starving!

  1. ladyredspecs says:

    i’ve been following the FODMAP diet for 2 years. Planning is the key. I suggest you check out the Monash University Fodmap site and also their phone app. They lead the world in IBS research

    • Zuri says:

      Thanks for commenting! I’ve read up on their site the other day, but right now I can’t spend $9 on their app. 😦 Maybe when funds come in. Thanks!

  2. Hi, I also just started the FODMAP diet and haven’t found it too bad so far, you just need to know how to substitute ingredients I think. Planning does also make a huge difference, plus the knowledge that a meal isn’t going to leave me unable to stand upright is a pretty big motivation!! Hope it goes OK for you!

    • Zuri says:

      I understand the “not standing upright” thing. My pain has diminished exponentially! I’m just a very inexperienced cook with very little time on their hands, so trying to find options on the go is frustrating me. I nearly left the grocery store in tears today. 😦

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Thrift store coffee cup score "Smile" by Z.Grimm (c) 2017 #yborart #tampaart (reposted to correct crop) Still working #tampaart #yborart #wanderingeyegallery @wanderingeyegallery
