Whole Foods Visit, Hard Boiled Eggs Failure

Leave a comment

October 10, 2014 by Zuri

Today I decided to hard boil a few eggs (four) for a snack.  I guess I did something wrong, maybe I didn’t cook them long enough, because although they seemed done, and the yolks were firm (with no green), the shell wouldn’t come away from the egg whites.  This means when I tried to peel it, chunks of egg came off stuck to the shell.  Kind of discouraging for my first attempt at hard boiled eggs.

Got to take a fast (like half an hour) trip to Whole Foods today, looking for some GF options that I could eat that might qualify as FODMAP free.  I found myself coming away just as discouraged as I did yesterday at the regular grocery store.  I loved that they had tons of options, and everything was clearly labeled with their little purple signs, but sadly, everything is seasoned with things that aren’t FODMAP free, automatically disqualifying them from my purchase.  Sigh.

I was able to pick up a few things though:

  • Corn and Rice pasta
  • Cereal bars
  • Tamari (Finally!)
  • Organic plain tomato sauce (cans)
  • Chicken and Vegetable Stock
  • Rice cake (tahini and seaweed flavored)
  • Soy ice cream, Vanilla (Dammit, I got my ice cream!!!)

I came away with a wallet $36 lighter, which was a lot less than I expected to spend – I had budgeted for around $50.  I’ve been considering talking to my doctor about allowing the FODMAP foods in gradually, and just sticking to the GF, but I’m not sure about that yet.  There were a lot of GF options available, just not that I could eat and still be low FODMAP.  I’m just looking for something more manageable.  Is that too much to ask?

Since I can have cheddar cheese, I’ll be trying to make macaroni and cheese stuffed peppers.  I’ve made this recipe before, I’ll just have to make some dairy-free adjustments to the recipe and hopefully it turns out well again.  I’ll be using corn elbow macaroni, which is new for me, but I figured all the cheese would make it more manageable as a new food.

That’s all for now.  Comments always welcome!  Please, feel free to share!

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Lyta gets a #boop on my desk! #kittensofinstagram #catsofinstagram #Inktober drawing 18 - "Filthy". Nothing like mushrooms romping in the mud. #inktober2017  #twitchcreative #twitch  @inktober2017 #mushrooms  twitch.tv/spookeriffic  #inkdrawing #Inktober day 17, #graceful - the Deaths Head Moth. Very happy with the hands! #inktober2017 #twitchcreative #twitch #inkdrawing #deathsheadmoth @inktober2017 @inktober
