Tampa Bay VegFest and Review: Foods Alive Flax Crackers

Leave a comment

November 8, 2014 by Zuri

Today was the 5th Annual Tampa Bay VegFest, hosted by Florida Voices for Animals.  Cotanchobee Fort Brooke Park on the Hillsborough River downtown was packed with animal lovers and vegetarian food lovers aplenty.  There were lots of food trucks and tents of every (vegetarian!) stripe, animal rights groups, adoption groups, vegetarian advocates, and tons of products to try out – along with the occasional coupon.  The weather was gorgeous, not sweltering hot, and overcast.  I purchased, from Foods Alive, a bag of flax & chia crackers and some nutritional yeast.  I’ve always wanted to buy nutritional yeast and give it a try, now I was able to get an affordable opportunity to do so.  But the big reason we’re here today is the crackers…

foods alive flax cracker ginger snap

These were actually a pleasant surprise.  I hadn’t had much luck with gluten free crackers, they all end up dry and flavorless, but my friend Angie insisted that I try them.  I first tried their Maple & Cinnamon (normally my favorite flavor), and found it nice and mild.  I tried their Italian Herb flavor, and while nice, just wasn’t what I was looking for.  I always find myself in short supply of sweet snacks.  Then I tried Ginger Snap and fell in love!

It’s gingery without being too spicy or overpowering, there isn’t a strong scent of artificial ginger like you get with some products, and it’s a nice, mellow sweetness that doesn’t just disappear once you start to chew.  It’s sweetened with coconut sugar and molasses.  The product is USDA Certified organic, gluten free, 70% raw, Non-GMO, Kosher and Vegan.  It’s high in Protein (6g per 5 crackers) and Fiber (6g/24% DV).  The product has about 140 calories per serving – one serving is about five crackers.  Each cracker is approximately 1.5″ x 3″ ish.

I love the texture and the taste, and I think it’ll be the perfect fix for my sweet cravings.  I’ll have to watch how often I eat them, because I’m concerned about their high fiber content with my IBS-D, and I don’t want to exacerbate things.  For now, however, they’re a lovely snack which I would highly recommend and will definitely be purchasing more of in the future.

Once I get cooking with the nutritional yeast, I’ll get a review up for that as well.

Please remember:

I am in no way compensated for my review of these products.  I purchased the products with my own funds and provide reviews as a service to the community.

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Lyta gets a #boop on my desk! #kittensofinstagram #catsofinstagram #Inktober drawing 18 - "Filthy". Nothing like mushrooms romping in the mud. #inktober2017  #twitchcreative #twitch  @inktober2017 #mushrooms  twitch.tv/spookeriffic  #inkdrawing #Inktober day 17, #graceful - the Deaths Head Moth. Very happy with the hands! #inktober2017 #twitchcreative #twitch #inkdrawing #deathsheadmoth @inktober2017 @inktober
