Food Adventure: $3.90 Curry!

Leave a comment

December 2, 2014 by Zuri

With payday tomorrow, I’m scraping the bottom of the barrel trying to figure out something tasty and gluten free to eat.  So what does any internet savvy person do?  Hit Pinterest, of course!

With only a measly $8 left in the bank, I had to find something cheap that I could put together with minimal grocery shopping.  That’s when I found Coconut Curried Sweet Potato and Chickpea Stew.

I had to make some concessions – I didn’t have all the spices, but I have curry powder, so a substitution was made there.  I can’t eat chili, so I left that out.  The already had tomatoes and garlic on hand, so I spent $3.90 on one sweet potato, one can of chickpeas, one can of coconut milk and one yellow onion.  Boom.

Prepping for tonight's dinner

A post shared by Zuri Grimm (@spookeriffic) on

I followed the recipe to the best of my meager cooking abilities and set it to simmer.

Sweet potato chickpea curry, simmering

A post shared by Zuri Grimm (@spookeriffic) on

I added about another teaspoon worth of curry powder (it was way too mild).  After about 50 minutes simmering covered, and about ten uncovered, I was able to serve up this beauty…

Chickpea and sweet potato curry with rice.

A post shared by Zuri Grimm (@spookeriffic) on

Tastes absolutely delicious.  Usually people make curry very strong but this was mild and not at all overpowering.  Next time, if I have a bigger budget, I’ll definitely add some greens into it.  But for having only $3.90 invested in it, it came out pretty damned good.

I’ll have to see what else I can throw together on a meager budget.  Til then, I’m going to go nosh this super grub.  Ta!

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Still going.  #workinprogress #wanderingeyegallery #painting #ontheeasel #yborart #tampaart #wip @wanderingeyegallery Guinan being playful, happy new year! Momma.
