Upcoming Projects

Leave a comment

December 11, 2014 by Zuri

With school being out, I have a bunch of free time on my hands, and a new sewing machine to play with as well. So I’ve been collecting ideas on sewing projects and craft projects to get done during the holiday month.

First is painting my leather jacket.  I purchased this jacket for $15 at Goodwill and it’s in excellent condition.  The leather is soft, not stiff at all.  My plan is to paint the back in a distressed Union Jack pattern using leather paints.

Leather jacket from Goodwill, $15.97

A post shared by Zuri Grimm (@spookeriffic) on

The second project I have planned is a bag for the Spring semester.  My backpack has gotten way too heavy carrying around my laptop all the time at school and it’s hurting my neck and shoulder.  I’m planning on replacing my laptop with a tablet/keyboard combination for note taking in class, so that’ll lighten things up a bit.  I found a pattern on Etsy for exactly the kind of bag I’m looking for, and I picked out a bunch of Halloween themed fabric from Fabric.com.  Now I just need the budget!

Lastly, I have an upcoming project in regards to a shirt I bought months ago.  I love this purple plaid Tony Hawk brand shirt, but one wash and it shank just a bit too small to button up again.  So I’m planning to run a slit up the back and add a triangular shaped panel, which’ll make the whole thing a bit less fitted.  I’m considering using lace, but I might try something else, most likely in black.

Plaid shirt in Halloween Purple from Plato's Closet, Dale Mabry, Tampa. Cost: $3

A post shared by Zuri Grimm (@spookeriffic) on

That’s it for now.  Hopefully I’ll be able to complete these projects before the beginning of the next semester.  Readers:  Do you have any interesting projects you’re working on now?  Feel free to share in the comments section!

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Thrift store coffee cup score "Smile" by Z.Grimm (c) 2017 #yborart #tampaart (reposted to correct crop) Still working #tampaart #yborart #wanderingeyegallery @wanderingeyegallery
