Food Adventure: Sweet and Sour Chicken for One!

Leave a comment

January 24, 2015 by Zuri

Tonight I’m by my lonesome, so it’s dinner for one.  I had one chicken breast thawed, so I dragged out a trusty recipe for Sweet and Sour Chicken!  I had all the ingredients for the sauce, one chicken breast, a small bit of fresh broccoli and green beans, and – of course – rice.

I stumbled upon the recipe during one of my many Pinterest binges looking for gluten free recipes.  It appeared to be pretty easy to do, so I gave it a whirl.  The recipe I used is this one:

The only changes I needed to make was the fact that I was only working with one breast, so I cut all measurements in half.  I only made 1/2 c. rice and a small steamer pot of veggies.

The results were better than I expected:

Sweet and sour chicken with steamed veggies and rice.

A post shared by Zuri Grimm (@spookeriffic) on

The color even came out right!  Woo!

The only downside I’ve found is that one breast, plus veggies plus rice is VERY filling, and I didn’t realize it would be.  I’m about stuffed at this point, and I still haven’t dug into the rice yet!  I call this attempt to be a raging success.

I’m considering, if I get bored enough, making peanut butter oatmeal cookies tonight, since I have all the ingredients to that too.  Not sure yet.  We shall see.

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

"I Feel Sick" still more work to do... #wip #ontheeasel #art #lowbrowart #yborart #tampaart My kittums. Left: Lyta, age 6mos, right top: Vyvyan, age ~14yo, and right bottom, Guinan, ~2yo.  All rescues.

#catrescue #catsofinstagram #kittensofinstagram #kittycat #kitties "I Feel Sick" WIP. I put in the final background color, it really pops! #tampaart #yborart #artistsoninstagram #artist #ontheeasel
