Nerd Fitness, Fitocracy, and Working Out

Leave a comment

January 29, 2015 by Zuri

I’m home from school and boy are my arms tired!

Working out has been a painful, exhausting, exhilarating experience so far.  I’ve discovered that my legs are pretty good, but my upper body strength is terrible.  My arms have taken the brunt of the abuse this week.  My left arm is the one that’s hurting the most, since it’s probably the weakest, being on my off side.

I’m keeping track of all my progress on Fitocracy, an online fitness tracking community.  You earn points for each workout you do, and can level up based on these points.  It’s kind of fun! I’m up to level 5.

I also spend time over on the forums at Nerd Fitness.  There’s tons of information on the Nerd Fitness blog and on the forums themselves and they’re super supportive.  I was lucky enough to have some email correspondence with Staci from Nerd Fitness, and she was very encouraging about the class I’m taking.  I’m hoping to save my pennies and maybe join the Nerd Fitness Academy at some point, when I can afford it.

I think one of the downsides of being me is that I can’t bring myself to take a “before” picture.  My body dysphoria from my gender identity is so severe, I can’t bear to take a full size picture to use as a “before” shot.  Maybe soon I’ll get up the courage, but not now.

I’ll paste below my most recent workout, and see how much progress I make by the end of the semester.

  • Walking (treadmill)
    • 00:10:00 | 0.5 mi
  • Leg Press
    • 50 lb x 20 reps
    • 50 lb x 20 reps
    • 58 lb x 20 reps (PR)
  • Leg Extensions
    • 40 lb x 15 reps
    • 40 lb x 20 reps
  • Seated Leg Curl
    • 40 lb x 20 reps
    • 40 lb x 20 reps
    • 48 lb x 15 reps (PR)
  • Lat Pulldown
    • 40 lb x 15 reps
    • 40 lb x 15 reps
    • 40 lb x 15 reps
  • Machine Chest Press
    • 25 lb x 10 reps
    • 25 lb x 10 reps
  • Front Dumbbell Raise
    • 5 lb x 10 reps
    • 5 lb x 10 reps
    • 5 lb x 10 reps
  • Dumbbell Side Lateral Raise
    • 5 lb x 10 reps
    • 5 lb x 10 reps
    • 5 lb x 10 reps
  • Machine Bicep Curls
    • 20 lb x 20 reps
    • 20 lb x 20 reps
    • 20 lb x 15 reps
  • Machine Triceps Extension
    • 30 lb x 20 reps (PR)
    • 30 lb x 10 reps
    • 30 lb x 10 reps
  • Walking (treadmill)
    • 00:06:33 | 0.3 mi
Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

#Inktober establishes I can't draw clouds, but I can draw tentacles. #inkdrawing #inktober2017 #twitch #twitchcreative twitch.tv/spookeriffic #tentacles #clouds #rain @inktober2017 Lyta gets a #boop on my desk! #kittensofinstagram #catsofinstagram #Inktober drawing 18 - "Filthy". Nothing like mushrooms romping in the mud. #inktober2017  #twitchcreative #twitch  @inktober2017 #mushrooms  twitch.tv/spookeriffic  #inkdrawing
