The Creative Process

Leave a comment

May 24, 2015 by Zuri

painting 4

In case none of you knew, in the off season, I’ve taken up painting again.  My artwork can be viewed at ArtPunx Studio.

Right now I’m working on a 30″ tall by 40″ wide canvas, painting conjoined Dia de los Muertos skulls and it’s taking me a while to get it done (see above).  I tend to work with small brushes in order to get very crisp edges and corners.  Needless to say that means something of this size is taking me longer than usual.

I was taking a break and loitering in one of the chat rooms I frequent, and someone brings up that “art should be fun”.  This got me thinking a lot about art, why I do it, and the creative process in general.

Simply put, I don’t find art “fun”.  Something with as much stress, frustration and exhaustion as the creative process is not fun in my opinion.  This is not to say that art isn’t satisfying.  It’s very much so!  But “fun” is not a word that I would use in relationship to the creation of my art.

Let me see if I can put this in better terms for you…

Let’s think of creating art as childbirth.  You choose to create something beautiful, a joy for yourself and the world around you, to make manifest your vision.  That process is going to involve a lot of stress, anxiety and joy. There may even be pain.  But in the end, you’ve produced something memorable to enrich your life and the lives of others.  Sure, it can be an enjoyable journey.  A lot of times it’s a downright pain in the ass.  But in the end you have the satisfaction and joy of creating something – a tangible extension of yourself.

I wouldn’t call that “fun”.

Creation can be necessary, an essential in life.  I know I get very agitated if I can’t create.  Idle hands and whatnot?  I’m not sure.  Regardless, there are those artists out there who live, breathe and bleed their art.  I can’t imagine it being lumped into the single frivolous three-letter word called “fun”.

The destination getting to my final piece of art to be deeply satisfying and fulfilling.  I do not find the journey getting to that point “fun”.  End story.

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Still going.  #workinprogress #wanderingeyegallery #painting #ontheeasel #yborart #tampaart #wip @wanderingeyegallery Guinan being playful, happy new year! Momma.
