Semester’s end, waiting for January

Leave a comment

December 12, 2019 by Zuri

Hi folks. Welcome to my quarterly journal post.
I’ve finished the semester, and I’ve done pretty well. It’s just a waiting game for a week or so until we get our final grades. Looking forward to seeing the results, but preliminary grades seem to point at my passing. Yay!
I’m looking forward to the Spring semester. I’ll be taking:

Feminist Research Methods
Disability Studies (online)
Intro to LGBTQ+ Cultures
Gender in SciFi

I’ve learned over the fall semester that the WGS major is surprisingly a lot more difficult than the Anthropology classes. The books I need for most of my classes are already wishlisted on Amazon, and most of them are novels. I’ll be buying those in Kindle format, so I can avoid carrying six gazillion books around like I did last semester. As it stands, I need to replace my rolling bag – my old one has given up, the wheels are too far gone. Have I mentioned how much I love my kindle?

Over the break, I have a few things I’d like to read – or re-read. I just finished Deep Work by Cal Newport, and I’ve started re-reading his So Good They Can’t Ignore You. I’ve also picked up a copy of Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, since its required reading material for the Gender in SciFi class. Might start that over the break. I was inspired by my Lit by Women of Color Diaspora class to pick up Toni Morrison’s The Bluest Eye, which is also on my reading list – for funsies, not for class.

Lastly, I’m hoping to get my professional website live, as well as prep a paper for publication. No details on that just yet, we’ll see what happens. I’m not sure how this process goes. Spring brings the SEWSA Convention in St. Pete (USF is hosting), and I’ll def. be attending that!

That’s pretty much all I have for now. My birthday is coming up at the end of the month, and I’ll be hosting an extra-long live stream that day. If I don’t post before then, everyone have a safe and happy holiday and New Year’s!

Leave a comment

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

No Instagram images were found.