Looking forward to the New Year

7

December 29, 2011 by Zuri

Well, the Holidays are now behind us, and with it I just celebrated my birthday as well.  Forward lies the New Year, and with it talk of resolutions and life changes.  I know the last few months I haven’t been seeing the success I’ve aimed for in my diet and health goals, so hopefully with a new “starting point”, maybe I’ll be able to refocus and get my butt in gear.

I think right now the hardest thing I’m looking at is trying to make exercise a part of my daily life.  To me, it’s boring and repetitive.  There’s just nothing that I’ve been able to find that’s enjoyable enough for me to want to do it over and over again.  I’ve always been fascinated with Yoga, but my balance has always sucked.  High Intensity Interval Training interests me, but boy does that wipe me out!  It’s hard!  That’s the whole point of it, I guess?  I know exercise is important, both for physical well-being as well as mental health.  It’s something I need as an important part of my life.  I just need to find out what’s the best course of action for me to get the fitness that I need in my life.  Le sigh.

On my personal wishlist I have the Wii and Wii Fit.  Discussing it with Baron, we’ve decided that we’ll pick it up when we can afford it, which will most likely be around income tax time.  I’ve heard good things from friends of mine about the exercises on them, the Yoga options, and the balance board which also doubles as a scale.  I also love some of the other Wii Sports games, like bowling and tennis.  I think it’d be a fun way to get me off the couch or away from my computer, and get a little bit of physical activity into me. 🙂

I’ve also signed up for Fitocracy, this really neat site that lets you track not only your fitness goals, but what exercises you’ve done.  It issues you points for the exercises that you’ve done, and you level yourself up based on the points you accrue, kind of like a video game.  You can also unlock achievements for specific sets of fitness goals completed.  There’s also forums and groups.   I’m looking forward to trying out more of the site once I’m exercising regularly and able to post my progress on the site.

Also in the coming year I’ll be focusing more on my diet.  For the Holiday, I was gifted with two vegetarian cook books, so I have plenty of recipes to play with.  I’m looking forward to increasing my fruit and veggie intake on a daily basis, and decreasing my animal proteins substantially.

All in all I’m trying to approach the new year with a positive outlook.  Hopefully I’ll succeed this year where I’ve previously failed.  If I can just change my habits from negative ones to positive ones, I’ll be on the right track.  Happy New Year, everyone. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Looking forward to the New Year

  1. tofubelly says:

    Don’t try, DO! Schedule the exercise. Write it into your daily calendar. If you make it a must, you’ll do it, and start feeling great!

    • Murdercakes says:

      Thanks for the reply, tofubelly. I’m an awful procrastinator, and pretty lazy. I know I can do it if I put my heart into it. I just need to do exactly that. Thanks for commenting 🙂

  2. Great post – I tried to sign-up for Fitocracy and it said that I had to request an invite (which I did) and that they will let me know when it is open to the public?

  3. I will likely pass – too bad, it looked like a neat site.

  4. Very sweet – let me see if I can finish my stairs without having a stroke first 🙂

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Thrift store coffee cup score "Smile" by Z.Grimm (c) 2017 #yborart #tampaart (reposted to correct crop) Still working #tampaart #yborart #wanderingeyegallery @wanderingeyegallery
