Failure. Sadface.

2

October 27, 2011 by Zuri

Starting this blog, I realized that not only would have to document the good, but I would have to share the bad as well.  This is going to be one of those posts.

I’ve suffered from bipolar disorder since my teens, and today I woke up with in a crushing depression.  I didn’t have enough cash this week to refill one of my prescriptions, so I’ve been taking 1/3 of a dose all week, trying to stretch until Friday.  Today,  I couldn’t do anything except curl up with my cat and my stuffed bear.  My alarm went off for my daily walk and I ignored it.  It took me another two hours before I could summon up the strength of will to even sit down at my computer to start writing this.  I’m still writing this, three hours after that.

I feel like I’ve failed in the simplest of goals.  I didn’t think “walk for the next five days” was too difficult.  Maybe my expectations are too high?  I’m finding myself increasingly frustrated by my inability to keep up with the changes I’m trying to make in my diet and lifestyle.  My budget isn’t keeping up with my diet, and I’m running out of non-meats well before our next payday.  It’s all feeling like an exercise in futility at this point, and I’m not sure where to go next.

It might be the truth.  It might be the bipolar disorder talking.  I don’t know.  I just know that for something that I want so badly, it’s seemingly so unattainable.  Maybe tomorrow, it’ll be easier.  Who is to say?

2 thoughts on “Failure. Sadface.

  1. Lindsay says:

    Oh dear … One night of not walking, one night of dealing with another physical issue, does not constitute failure. Not in the least. If that’s failure, I should just give up on everything now, because I fall off the wagon so often I’m surprised I keep getting back on. That’s one of the things I’ve learned about this whole wellness and fitness thing: that nobody has a completely consistent, successful program every day. And if they do, they’re obviously movie stars with way more money to pay people to take care of life’s details than I will ever have. 😉 Seriously. You are NOT a failure. This journey is not a failure. Taking care of your bipolar and doing what you need to do to get through a down phase is really important. Way more important than one walk on one day. The fact that you were able to get up the strength to type an entry is a big one.

    Don’t give up, and don’t think you’re a failure. You’re so very much not. *hugs*

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Still going.  #workinprogress #wanderingeyegallery #painting #ontheeasel #yborart #tampaart #wip @wanderingeyegallery Guinan being playful, happy new year! Momma.
