Gluten Free Thanksgiving?

Leave a comment

November 15, 2014 by Zuri

Thanksgiving is coming up in a couple weeks and I’m both excited and anxious, with a little bit of sadness mixed in.  The holidays are always hard for me – my family lives thousands of miles away, and we always had big family dinners growing up.  Since moving, I’ve been trying to find something to fill that gaping hole in my life.  Enter my friend Patricia.

For the last few years, Patricia has been awesome enough to invite me to her parent’s house for the holidays, and they’ve always made me feel at home.  Mrs. Carlucci has tried to accommodate my dietary needs (she made an awesome broccoli casserole when I was trying to switch to vegetarianism).  I’ve been invited over yet again for early dinner, and now I have to plan for eating dinner while still staying relatively gluten free.

I’m planning on picking up a bottle of gluten enzyme pills from Walgreens to take, just to make myself doubly safe in case I accidentally eat something I shouldn’t, but she usually has a wide variety of foods to choose from, and now that I’m not eating vegetarian, it should be easier this year than in previous years.

I’m also going to try cooking this year, which ought to be an adventure.  Since I can’t have stuffing, I decided to try a recipe I found on Pinterest for a Cranberry Orange Quinoa Salad.  This recipe looks so yummy with cranberries and pomegranate and orange, and so colorful!  I figured this would make a nice stuffing substitute.  I’m also planning on making a cobbler, so that I can have dessert with everyone else and not feel left out of the joy that is pie.  I’m up in the air on whether to make peach or berry cobbler?  I’m not sure which will be more acceptable, so I’ll research filling options.  I know it’ll have a gluten free oatmeal crumble on top, which I’m looking forward to making.

This is going to be a bit of an adventure, since my cooking skills are mediocre at best.  I just hope the food is edible, and people (other than me) enjoy it.  I don’t like the idea of being an inconvenience to people because of my dietary problems, so I really want to help as much as I can.  Hopefully, this works out for the best.

In case I don’t post before then, I hope you all have a safe and happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

Why We’re Here…

This blog exists to document my personal wellness and life journey, focusing on the areas of physical and mental well-being, diet and spiritual health. I'll be sharing my own experiences as well as information from throughout the web.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram!

Still going.  #workinprogress #wanderingeyegallery #painting #ontheeasel #yborart #tampaart #wip @wanderingeyegallery Guinan being playful, happy new year! Momma.
